top of page
Writer's pictureshellyreneeking

PTSD Awareness Day & July 4th - Long Way Home

June 27th was PTSD Awareness Day. You probably know someone who struggles with PTSD and you might even be all to aware of the depression, anxiety, and suicidal thoughts that often go with it. I have a tremendous appreciation for those who have or are serving in our military, and through family and friends personal stories, I have a small sense of the toll it takes. My cousin served in the Army, and when he returned home I wondered what he must think about the country he left to defend. So much was happening in our world that was important, but would he wonder why we're trying so hard to fight each other? Americans fighting Americans. Being disrespectful...hateful...horrible. While he had been fighting for our freedoms, we were trying to hinder freedom of our own people. We were being disrespectful to the people fighting for those freedoms while saying it's our freedom that gives us the right to be disrespectful. Was this what he went there and suffered for?


In honor of him, and all soldiers, I wrote the song "Long Way Home". I hope you'll share it.

 

LONG WAY HOME - By Shelly Renee King

I went out fighting Believing so hard That we're making the changes I'm fighting for

Defending my family That's priority 1 For this reason I'll hold onto this gun

And stare down the barrel of a yearlong stretch Not sleeping tonight in this lonely ditch


It’s a long way home Won’t go back the same

I hope my country doesn’t think it’s just a game


My friends have left Not the way they planned Heading back home in just a body bag

I made it through this hell Now finally to mend And get back to the life I came here to defend

My heart knows I’m home but my head disagrees It keeps showing me things I don’t want to see


It’s a long way home Don’t come back the same

I hope my country doesn’t think it’s just a game


BRIDGE: (enter snare)

It’s a long way home I’ll fight this fight A different one now when I wake in the night

They’re tearing down statues and fighting each other Don’t they know why I went there and suffered?

To protect our people Not tear them apart Was it all worth it, those nights in the dark?

Our battle is here Now I can see Protecting our own in the land of the free


It’s a long way home Don’t come back the same

I hope my country doesn’t think it’s just a game

It’s a long way home Don’t come back the same

I hope my country doesn’t think it’s just a game


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page